Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
When ‘Jai Sree Ram’ becomes a death call
access_time 15 Feb 2024 9:54 AM GMT
Strengthening the Indian Republic
access_time 26 Jan 2024 4:43 AM GMT
When the US and UK fight Houthis
access_time 17 Jan 2024 6:08 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightCulturechevron_rightLiteraturechevron_rightTJ Joseph's...

TJ Joseph's autobiography that tells story of his chopped off hand wins Kerala Sahitya Akademi award

TJ Josephs autobiography that tells story of his chopped off hand wins Kerala Sahitya Akademi award

Thiruvananthapuram: The Kerala Sahitya Akademi has announced awards for different categories in literary works for the year 2021. The best autobiography award has went to 'Attupokatha Ormakal' by Professor TJ Joseph.

The book is about the trauma he had gone through following the attack on him by the activists of Islamist outfit Popular Front of India (PFI) in which his right hand was chopped off. He was attacked over his alleged blasphemous questions paper he had prepared for his students in Newman College in Thodupuzha, Kerala.

The award was announced on Wednesday, July 27, by K Satchidanandan, president of the Akademi, and its secretary professor CP Aboobacker. R Rajashree and Vinoy Thomas shared the award for best novel. Anwar Ali won the award for poetry. Devdas VM won the award in the category of the short story. Writers Vaisakhan and professor KP Sankaran were selected for the Distinguished Membership of the Akademi. It carries a certificate, citation, two-sovereign gold locket and a cash award of Rs 50,000.

Professor TJ Joseph was teaching Malayalam literature at Newman College when the incident happened in July 2010. Joseph was returning from a church ceremony with his mother and sister when the activists of the PFI attacked him.

The attackers told him that he was being punished for the alleged sacrilegious undertones of one of the questions he had framed. The case was investigated by NIA and a special NIA court in 2015 convicted 13 people, owing allegiance to the PFI.

Other Awards

Writers K Jayakumar, Kadathanattu Narayanan, Janamma Kunjunni, Kaviyur Rajagopalan, Geetha Krishnankutty and KA Jayaseelan were honoured for their overall contribution to the literary world.

The award for best poetry was granted to 'Mehaboob Express' by Anvar Ali; the best award for the chopped-offnovel was granted to R Rajasree for 'Kalyaniyennum Dakshayaniennum Peraya Randu Sthreekalude Kadha' and Vinoy Thomas for 'Puttu'; and 'Vazhi Kandupidikkunnavar' by VM Devadas won for being the best short story. Apart from this, Aymanam John (for translation), Pradeep Mandur (for best drama), Raghunath Paleri (under children's literature), Venu (for travelogue), Aa For Annamma (under humour), N Ajayakumar (for literary criticism), and Gopakumar Cholayil (under the category scholarly literature) were also awarded.

Show Full Article
TAGS:Kerala Sahitya Akademi awardsTJ JosephBest autobiography
Next Story