Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightElectionschevron_rightAssembly Electionschevron_rightAssamchevron_rightAssam assembly...

Assam assembly elections: 173 candidates file nominations for first phase

Assam assembly elections: 173 candidates file nominations for first phase

Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal filed his nomination papers from Majuli.

Guwahati: The state's chief electoral officer on Tuesday announced that more than 173 candidates have filed their nominations for 47 Assam assembly seats going to polls in the first phase on March 27.

The last date for the submission of the nominations for the first phase of the polls was Tuesday.

An official said that the number of candidates filing papers would further increase as some districts are yet to submit their list.

Among the list of those who filed nominations on the last day, a few of the prominent candidates were Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal from Majuli, Ashok Singhal from Dhekiajuli, sitting BJP MLAs Angoorlata Deka from Batadroba, Mrinal Saikia from Khumtai, Padma Hazarika from Sootea, sitting Congress MLA Rupjyoti Kurmi from Mariani and former Congress minister Bismita Gogoi from Khumtai.

Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) president Lurinjyoti Gogoi has filed his nominations from both Duliajan and Naharkatiya constituencies.

Jailed Raijor Dal leader Akhil Gogoi will also contest in the first phase from Mariani and Sibsagar seats as an Independent candidate, as the party is yet to be recognised by the Election Commission.

Scrutiny will be held on March 10 and the last date of withdrawal is March 12. Elections to the 126-member Assam assembly will be held in three phases on March 27, April 1 and April 6.

Show Full Article
TAGS:Assam assembly polls Assam 
Next Story