Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightElectionschevron_rightAssembly Electionschevron_rightKeralachevron_rightKerala Poll Result...

Kerala Poll Result Live: Kannur district shows traditional pro-Left trend

Kerala Poll Result Live: Kannur district shows traditional pro-Left trend

Chief minister Pinarayi Vijayan who is contesting from Dharmadam constituency in Kannur district

Kannur: Among the districts in Kerala that have traditionally favoured the Left Democratic Front (LDF) against the United Democratic Front (UDF), Kannur, also the native district of most of the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M), has shown its upper hand unabated.

Although the district headquarters Kannur itself is a pro-UDF bastion, the 2016 assembly election had seen LDF's Kadannappally Ramakrishnan winning with an unenviable majority of fewer than 2000 votes against Congress district chief Satheeshan Pacheni.

Both candidates are facing each other this time too, but the latest figures show Satheeshan leading. However, fortunes have been swinging either way as counting progresses.

In Dharmadam, a centre of attraction as the constituency where incumbent chief minister Pinarayi Vijayan is contesting, the LDF has steadily maintained its lead during voting.

Total seats in the district: 10. LDF leads in nine and UDF in one

Seats, leading front and lead below:

Payyannur: LDF 17981

Kalliassery: LDF 14254

Taliparamba: LDF 4197

Irikkur: LDF 1484

Kannur: LDF 2056

Dharmadam: LDF 4681

Thalassery: LDF 12485

Kuthuparamba: LDF 7986

Mattanur: LDF 12871

Peravoor: LDF 1124

Show Full Article
TAGS:Assembly election2021 Kerala Kannur LDF lead 
Next Story