Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Womens Day: Building a digitally equal world
access_time 8 March 2023 4:38 AM GMT
Women must arise now and embrace equity
access_time 7 March 2023 10:52 AM GMT
The criminal case against Vladimir Putin
access_time 27 Feb 2023 9:46 AM GMT
Censorship that stifles free speech
access_time 24 Feb 2023 7:02 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightElectionschevron_rightAssembly Electionschevron_rightKeralachevron_rightPinarayi Vijayan led...

Pinarayi Vijayan led LDF leading to create history in Kerala

Pinarayi Vijayan led LDF leading to create history in Kerala

Thiruvananthapuram: Returning to state power will be a history creating ceremony for the Left Democratic Front led by Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan in Kerala. No front, either the United Democratic Front led by the Congress and the LDF, has ever got a majority to hang on to the power in the state in the last four decades.

However, the present trend in the state clearly indicates a coming back of the LDF government. As of noon, the LDF continues to dominate with 90 seats in the 140-member assembly.

The UDF is leading only in 47 constituencies while the NDA leads in three places. The Left Front has dominated Thrissur, Thiruvananthapuram, Palakkad, Alappuzha, Pathanamthitta, Kozhikode and Kannur districts. The LDF is leading in 12 of the 13 seats in Thrissur. While in Palakkad, the LDF is leading in nine out of the 12 constituencies. The UDF is leading only in Trithala and Mannarkkad.

In Alappuzha, the Congress has only Harippad and Aroor. In Pathanamthitta, the Left Front is leading in all the five constituencies, including Konni.

The UDF has a lead in only one of the 14 constituencies in Thiruvananthapuram district (Kovalam). The NDA is leading in the much-talked seat in Nemom. There is a slight majority in Aruvikara (223), Nemom (786) and Chirayinkeezhu (887).

In Kollam, the LDF is leading in Chathanur, Eravipuram, Kollam, Chadayamangalam, Punalur, Pathanapuram and Kunnathoor constituencies. The UDF is ahead in Chavara where Minister Mercy Kuttiyamma contested.

In the Kozhikode district, 11 out of 13 seats are with the Left. The UDF has only Koduvalli contested by MK Muneer and Vadakara contested by KK Rema. The Left has a slim majority in Kozhikode South, Koyilandy and Kuttyadi.

The LDF is leading in nine of the 11 constituencies in the Kannur district. The UDF is ahead only in Irikkur and Peravoor. In the Azhikode constituency, which attracted the attention of the state, the Left Front was leading by about 4,000 votes. In Dharmadam, Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan is ahead by about 8,000 votes.

Malappuram remains a stronghold of the League despite the Left wave. Only in Ponnani does the LDF have a clear upper hand. In Tirurangadi, KPA Majeed is trailing by only 200 votes. KT Jaleel is behind Thavanur where the glamour fight took place.

The UDF is ahead in Kasargod Uduma, Kasargod and Manjeswaram constituencies. The LDF is ahead in Thrikkarippur and Kanhangad constituencies.

Show Full Article
TAGS:Pinarayi Vijayan Kerala assembly elections 
Next Story