Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightElectionschevron_rightAssembly Electionschevron_rightTamil Naduchevron_rightMuslim League to...

Muslim League to contest in three seats under the ladder symbol

Muslim League to contest in three seats under the ladder symbol

Chennai : In the upcoming TN Assembly elections, the DMK led alliance has decided to give IUML three seats and the Manithaneya Makkal Katchi (the political outfit of the TN Muslim Munnetra Kazhagam) two seats.

The agreement was signed in the Anna Arivalayam on Monday evening in the presence of DMK chief MK Stalin. Muslim League National convenor KM Khader Moideen and MMK President Prof MH Jawahirullah were also present. The Muslim League would contest with its usual ladder sign. The decision was made after a second consecutive round of discussions.

Although the IUML contested in five seats in the last election, it only managed to win one; Muhammed Abubacker won from the Kadayanallur constituency. The decision on seat-sharing with the Congress party will be made by March 3. Last Assembly elections, the Congress were given 42 seats, of which they won 8. Sources claim the Congress will be given 25 seats this time. The talks with the left front will also begin tomorrow.

Show Full Article
TAGS:League Tamil Nadu Assembly elections 2021 
Next Story