Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Netanyahus castle cumbling
access_time 31 March 2023 6:31 AM GMT
Israel protests
access_time 31 March 2023 5:15 AM GMT
Congress protest
access_time 30 March 2023 4:30 AM GMT
After a century of Vaikom Satyagraha
access_time 29 March 2023 6:25 AM GMT
The new India of exclusion
access_time 28 March 2023 5:08 AM GMT
Netanyahus castle cumbling
access_time 31 March 2023 6:31 AM GMT
Womens Day: Building a digitally equal world
access_time 8 March 2023 4:38 AM GMT
Women must arise now and embrace equity
access_time 7 March 2023 10:52 AM GMT
The criminal case against Vladimir Putin
access_time 27 Feb 2023 9:46 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightElectionschevron_rightAssembly Electionschevron_rightWest Bengalchevron_rightBengal Poll Result...

Bengal Poll Result Live: TMC expected to form government in Bengal; leads in 219 of 294 seats

Bengal Poll Result Live: TMC expected to form government in Bengal; leads in 219 of 294 seats

Kolkata: The ruling Trinamool Congress looks set to retain power in West Bengal with its candidates leading in 202 of the state's 292 seats that went to poll against the BJP's 79, as trends were available for 286 seats.

Chief Minister and TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee was, however, trailing her former protege-turned-BJP rival Suvendu Adhikari in Nandigram by over 8,000 votes.

Belying expectations of a tight contest, the TMC candidates appeared galloping to victory, and, if the current trends hold, the party will easily form its third successive government in the state.

TMC supporters were seen celebrating with green 'gulal' at different places, including in front of Banerjee's residence at Kalighat.

Of the votes counted so far, the TMC has secured 48.51 per cent, while the BJP got 37.49 per cent, as per the Election Commission.

The Left-Congress-ISF alliance is leading in only two seats.

Two of the BJP Lok Sabha MPs -- Babul Supriyo, a minister in the Narendra Modi government, and Locket Chatterjee -- were trailing in Tollygunge and Chunchura seats.

Supriyo represents Asansol and Chatterjee Hooghly seat in the Lok Sabha.

However, BJP MP from Cooch Behar Nishith Pramanik was leading in Dinhata.

Shobhandeb Chattopadhyay, the TMC candidate for Bhabanipore that Mamata Banerjee vacated to contest from Nandigram, is leading his BJP rival Rudraneil Ghosh by over 22,000 votes.

Firhad Hakim, a state minister and Banerjee confidante, was also leading.

The TMC seems to have made huge inroads in Murshidabad and Malda districts, which have traditionally been the strongholds of the Congress.

The ruling party also seems to have regained some of the lost ground that it had conceded to the BJP in Paschim Medinipur district in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections

TMC secretary-general Partha Chatterjee said that the trends indicate that the people of the state have given a befitting reply to the repeated "attacks" on Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee.

Mocking the BJP, Chatterjee also said he wants to see the faces of those who had raised the slogan 'Is bar 200 par' (This time, over 200 seats for the saffron party).

"People are with Mamata Banerjee and they have replied to the derogatory comments and attacks on her and the populace of Bengal," he told reporters here.

BJP national general secretary in charge of West Bengal Kailash Vijayvargiya said that as per the trends, it appears that the people have decided to make Mamata Banerjee the chief minister of the state once again.

Show Full Article

Live Updates

TAGS:Bengal Updates Assembly Elections 2021 TMC BJP 
Next Story