Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightModi inducted into...

Modi inducted into BJP's parliamentary board after 6 years; no place for Shivraj

Modi inducted into BJPs parliamentary board after 6 years; no place for Shivraj

New Delhi: BJP president Ranjnath Singh on Sunday announced new team of office-bearers for 2014 elections and inducted Gujarat chief minister Narendra Modi after six years.

The BJP chief has also appointed Varun Gandhi, Amit Shah, Rajiv Pratap Rudy, JP Nanda and Murlidhar Rao as party's general secretaries.

According to reports, Madhya Pradesh chief minister Shivraj Singh Chauhan isn't inducted into the party's parliamentary board announced on Sunday.

The anticipated move — which many see most likely — was being seen as a marker of Modi’s growing clout within party circles and as a sign of his soft elevation to national politics.

While the party’s rank and file wants Modi to be declared the BJP’s prime ministerial candidate, the party wants a subtler launch so as not to irk ally, Janata Dal (United).

While his reinstatement to the party’s parliamentary board is being seen as the first step towards a national role, the second step is likely to be his future promotion as chief of the party’s campaign committee.

Shah had to quit as minister after being accused of being behind the alleged fake encounter of Sohrabuddin Sheikh.

While party leaders are silent on whether a decision to name Modi as the party’s contender for the top post will be taken any time before the elections, many leaders claim that he has emerged as the choice of party workers across India.


Show Full Article
Next Story