Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Russia invades Ukraine; unusual military action
access_time 2022-02-24T15:55:36+05:30
Eight years of falling indices of the country
access_time 2022-05-28T09:31:04+05:30
access_time 2022-05-27T09:44:32+05:30
Who is afraid of caste census?
access_time 2022-05-26T12:51:32+05:30
Kashmiri Pandits being let down again
access_time 2022-05-24T09:53:10+05:30
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_rightDean Kuriakose new...

Dean Kuriakose new Youth Congress president

Dean Kuriakose new Youth Congress president

Kochi: As the Congress party in the State goes through a tough stage due to the stand-off between the “A’ and the ‘I’ factions over the induction of Ramesh Chennithala into the Cabinet, the ‘A’ group won an upper hand in the Youth Congress polls.

Dean Kuriakose of ‘A’ group was Thursday elected as YC state president while C R Mahesh of ‘I’ faction became the vice-president. Kuriakose of Idukki won 21,129 votes while Mahesh of Kollam could only bag 16,486 votes.

With the results, the ‘A’ group could strengthen its authority in the Youth Congress; KSU, the students wing of the Congress, is already in the hands of the ‘A’ faction.

The ‘I’ group managed to win four general-secretary posts in the tightly-fought YC polls, the results of which came out here late on Thursday. Chief Minister Oommen Chandy’s son Chandy Oommen was elected as the state secretary.

The newly-elected general secretaries are Adam Mulsi of Kozhikode (I, 1,117 votes); Ifthiquarudeen P M of Malappuram (A, 1,040); Jebi Mather Hisham of Ernakulam (woman reservation A, 371); T G Sunil (fourth group, 635); Aneesh Varikkannamala (A, 751); Leena G of Thiruvananthapuram (I, 206); Vidya Balakrishnan (woman SC/ST reservation I, 209), and S M Balu of Thiruvananthapuram (reservation I, 359).

Show Full Article
Next Story