Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_rightYoung politicians...

Young politicians should fight corruption: Governor

Young politicians should fight corruption: Governor

Thiruvananthapuram: Young politicians should strive towards changing the face of India by fighting corruption which has infected the nation, Kerala Governor Nikhil Kumar said.

Corruption was not becoming the focal point of debate during elections as voters were being wooed on the basis of caste, creed or religion, the Governor said at the release of 'India: The Future is Now', edited by Union Minister of State for Human Resource Development Shashi Tharoor.

Kumar said it was time to reconsider passing of the provision which allows a person involved in a criminal case to contest the election until final verdict.

The young parliamentarians should be concerned about the extent of corruption infecting the country, he said.

Women's empowerment was another area which should be given utmost priority, he said.

He commended Tharoor for coming out with such "a wonderful piece of work", which was a collection of essays by a dozen young MPs from different parties and regions.

Tharoor said the book was an experiment for him as it was his first stint as an Editor though he had written 13 books on his own. He said he wanted to tell the readers what was on the minds of young politicians in the country.

Young Indians with an eye on the future should have urgent concern for India's compelling problems. Around 66 per cent of the country's population was below 35, he said.

'India: The Future is Now' presents the vision and roadmap for the country and brings together young parliamentarians, cutting across ideologies, geographies and political affiliations who provide perspectives on a wide range of issues from technology to infrastructure, healthcare, education to environmental issues.

The contributors to the volume are Anantkumar Hegde, Anurag Singh Thakur, Hamdullah Sayeed, Jay Panda, Jyotiraditya Scindia, Kalikesh Singh Deo, M B Rajesh, Milind Deora, Nishikant Dubey, Poonamben Veljibhai Jat, Priya Dutt Roncon and Sanjay Jaiswal.

A panel discussion followed the release function in which young MLAs Hibi Eden, Shafi Parambil, P C Vishnunath and T V Rajesh took part.


Show Full Article
Next Story