Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Women and girls need to be safe
access_time 2021-01-15T15:08:45+05:30
Another Trump impeachment
access_time 2021-01-15T11:16:29+05:30
Covid 19 spread
access_time 2021-01-14T15:40:30+05:30
Freezing the Centre or the farmer protest?
access_time 2021-01-14T12:55:08+05:30
DEEP READAll arrow_drop_down
Anti-Conversion Law: A law meant for abuse
access_time 2021-01-12T13:56:35+05:30
Syed Shahriyaar
access_time 2021-01-05T19:08:46+05:30
Reading A week in the life of Svitlana
access_time 2020-12-23T12:06:42+05:30
Hum Dekhenge- One year of Anti-CAA protests
access_time 2020-12-22T17:35:06+05:30
The French Fanatic and the Fanatic Fringe
access_time 2020-11-02T15:56:00+05:30
Homechevron_rightSportschevron_rightMurray wins Wimbledon, ...

Murray wins Wimbledon, ends 77-year British wait

Murray wins Wimbledon, ends 77-year British wait

London: Andy Murray finally ended a 77-year wait, becoming the first Briton to win the men's singles title at Wimbledon since 1936 as he defeated World No.1 Novak Djokovic in straight sets here Sunday.

Fred Perry was the last British male champion to win the singles title in 1936 and the second seeded Murray emulated Perry at the All England Club Sunday. Cheered by the home crowd, Murray won 6-4, 7-5, 6-4 in three hours and nine minutes.

Though top seed Djokovic of Serbia broke Murray once each in the first two sets, the Scot broke the Serbian's serve twice each in both the sets.

In the third set, services were broken twice by both the players and while the set was equal at 4-all, the local boy broke the 2011 champion to go 5-4 up.

In the final game of the match, Murray won three straight points to earn three championship points which were blown away by the World No.1 to level the game and then take advantage.

However, Murray reached his fourth championship point and this time came out victorious on the lone grass court major.

Murray had also won the 2012 Olympic gold here at the All England Club after losing the Wimbledon title last year to Swiss Roger Federer.

Show Full Article
Next Story