Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightHemant Soren set to be ...

Hemant Soren set to be Jharkhand's ninth CM

Hemant Soren set to be Jharkhands ninth CM

Ranchi: If all goes well, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) leader Hemant Soren will be the ninth chief minister of Jharkhand.

Backed by the Congress, RJD and legislators from smaller parties and independents, Soren staked claim to forming a new government when he met Governor Syed Ahmad Tuesday.

The JMM handed over names of 43 legislators who it said will back the JMM-led government.

All eyes are now on the governor. According to Raj Bhawan sources, the governor has sent a report to the central home ministry.

The new government will be in place once the central government lifts President's Rule.

Jharkhand was carved out of Bihar in November 2000. Babulal Marandi of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was the first chief minister. Marandi was replaced by Arjun Munda of BJP.

JMM chief Shibu Soren was the third chief minister. He quit after just eight days. Arjun Munda of BJP succeeded him.

Madhu Koda, an independent legislator backed by the Congress, JMM and RJD, became the fifth chief minister -- in September 2006.

Shibu Soren became the sixth chief minister in August 2008. He took oath again in December 2009.

In September 2010, Arjun Munda became the state's eighth chief minister. Now it is the turn of Hemant Soren.


Show Full Article
Next Story