Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Women and girls need to be safe
access_time 2021-01-15T15:08:45+05:30
Another Trump impeachment
access_time 2021-01-15T11:16:29+05:30
Covid 19 spread
access_time 2021-01-14T15:40:30+05:30
Freezing the Centre or the farmer protest?
access_time 2021-01-14T12:55:08+05:30
DEEP READAll arrow_drop_down
Anti-Conversion Law: A law meant for abuse
access_time 2021-01-12T13:56:35+05:30
Syed Shahriyaar
access_time 2021-01-05T19:08:46+05:30
Reading A week in the life of Svitlana
access_time 2020-12-23T12:06:42+05:30
Hum Dekhenge- One year of Anti-CAA protests
access_time 2020-12-22T17:35:06+05:30
The French Fanatic and the Fanatic Fringe
access_time 2020-11-02T15:56:00+05:30
Homechevron_rightSportschevron_rightTop three teams from...

Top three teams from Dublin to qualify for ICC World Twenty20

Top three teams from Dublin to qualify for ICC World Twenty20

Dubai: The ICC on Tuesday announced a revised schedule for the Women's World Twenty20 Qualifier in Dublin this year which will now see top three teams from the event advancing to next year's World Twenty20 in Bangladesh instead of one.

Following an ICC board decision during the ICC annual conference week in London in June, three sides from the eight-team qualifiers, to be held from July 23-31, will book their tickets to Bangladesh.

As a result, it is not just the tournament winner, but also the runner-up and the winner of the third-fourth place play-off that will progress to the World Twenty20.

To reflect the changed qualification structure, the tournament schedule has also been amended, with the primary change being the replacement of the Super Four stage with two semifinals.

The three qualifying teams will join Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, South Africa and West Indies in the 2014 tournament, which will be staged from March 16 to April 6.

The event will now be a 10-team tournament and will again be held alongside the men's event. The teams participating in the Dublin tournament are Canada, Ireland, Japan, Netherlands, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Zimbabwe.

The decision to expand the qualification process for the ICC World Twenty20 is part of the continued promotion and support for women's cricket, with the recently announced event cycle including four ICC World Twenty20 events and two World Cups between 2015 and 2023.

Group A consists of Pakistan, Netherlands, Thailand and Zimbabwe while Group B has Sri Lanka, Ireland, Canada and Japan.

Show Full Article
Next Story