Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_rightState to use expertise ...

State to use expertise of retired government officials for development

State to use expertise of retired government officials for development

Thiruvananthapuram: In a move aimed at speeding up development works by involving retired government employees, the State Cabinet Wednesday decided to set up a company, Consortium of Retired Experts for Developments (CRED).

This was one of the five recommendations out of the ten-point development agenda, put forward by Sam Pitroda, investment mentor for Kerala, Chief Minister Oommen Chandy told reporters here.

In order to ensure services of retired Government officials for the development of the state, CRED will be formed.

An eight-member Director Board will also be constituted with Planning Minister as Chairman and Planning Secretary as Vice-Chairman, he said.

On other decisions, he said the cabinet gave its sanction to start the work on the Convention-cum-Exhibition Centre on the land acquired for the Lulu Group by the Port Trust at Bolgatty in Ernakulam.

Lulu Centre had ran into controversy after it was alleged that the there were irregularities in the allotment of land to it. However, both the Port Trust and Lulu Group had denied the allegations.

Chandy also said the Kerala State Coastal Development Corporation had been entrusted to take Rs 150 crore loan from HUDCO for implementing a housing project for fishermen.

Chandy also said 61 contract staff of TBGRI will be made permanent and they would get notional benefit with effect from August 2000.

Sanction has been given for four lecture posts in Economics and eight in Commerce for the newly sanctioned courses in economics and commerce in Government colleges, he said.

In a bid to strengthen the Vigilance division of the planning section in LSGs, a special division will be created under the Chief Town Planning officer. Sixteen posts have been sanctioned for the same.

An amount of Rs 2.98 crore will be sanctioned from the Contingency Fund of the Chief Minister for giving the salary arrears to those working for the Areas Intensive Programmes in schools.

As per the Central scheme RMSA, 30 schools were sanctioned in principle in five backward districts of Kerala namely Idukki, Wayanad, Palakkad, Malappuram and Kasaragod. The classes are expected to start this year itself, he said.

Show Full Article
Next Story