Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_right12 Lok Sabha Andhra...

12 Lok Sabha Andhra MPs suspended

12 Lok Sabha Andhra MPs suspended

New Delhi: Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar Friday suspended 12 members from Andhra Pradesh from the house for five days for causing unending disruption.

The speaker named the 12, four from the Telegu Desam Party (TDP) and eight from the Congress, under rule 374 (A) of parliamentary proceedings, which automatically suspends them for the next five sittings.

Under the rule, any member named by the speaker shall "stand automatically suspended from the service of the house for five consecutive sittings or the remainder of the session whichever is less".

Of the 12, Nimalla Kristappa, Modugula Venugopala Reddy, Konakalla Narayan Rao and Nirmalalli Sivaprasad are from the TDP.

Savarshri A. Sai Prathap, Anantha Venkatrami Reddy, L. Raja Gopal, Magunta Sreenivasulu Reddy, V. Aruna Kumar, G.V. Harsha Kumarm, Bapi Raju Kanumuru and Sabbam Hari belong to the Congress.

The members have been protesting against the creation of Telangana from Andhra Pradesh.

After being adjourned twice Friday, the speaker took the names of the 12 MPs and said: "I name you under rule 374(A). You may forthwith withdraw from the precincts of the house."

Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kamal Nath had Thursday moved a motion to suspend 10 of the 12 members.

Show Full Article
Next Story