Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightMuzaffarnagar riots:...

Muzaffarnagar riots: Arrest warrants against BJP, BSP MLAs

Muzaffarnagar riots: Arrest warrants against BJP, BSP MLAs

Muzaffarnagar: A local court Wednesday issued arrest warrants against a BSP MP, BJP and BSP MLAs, besides several politicians and senior community leaders for allegedly inciting violence through inflammatory speeches here.

The arrest warrants have been issued against 16 politicians and community leaders including BSP MP Qadir Rana, BJP MLAs Sangeet Som and Bhartendu Singh, BSP MLAs Noor Saleem and Maulana Jameel, Congress leader Saeeduzaman and BKU chief Naresh Tikait, police said.

Action will be taken against them in two days, Senior Superintendent of Police Praveen Kumar said.

"We have arrested three to four politicians...we have collected some evidence...some more evidence is to be collected and very soon will be arrested...whoever is guilty will be arrested in two days...this is subject to investigation," he said.

They are wanted for violating prohibitory orders and provoking communal tension by inflammatory speeches in different meetings (mahapanchayats) in the district, police said.

Ten police teams have been rushed to arrest those against whom warrants have been issued, a senior official said.

The communal clashes in Muzaffarnagar and adjoining areas claimed 47 lives and displaced over 40,000 people.


Show Full Article
Next Story