Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightWorldchevron_rightTony Abbott sworn in...

Tony Abbott sworn in as Australia's new Prime Minister

Tony Abbott sworn in as Australias new Prime Minister

Melbourne, Sep 18 (PTI) Liberal Party leader Tony Abbott was Wednesday sworn in as Australia's new Prime Minister, days after his coalition ended six years of Labor party's rule.

Abbott, 55, took the oath as 28th Prime Minister of Australia at Government House in Canberra in front of Governor-General Quentin Bryce along with his team of 41 ministers, assistant ministers and parliamentary secretaries.

He pledged to work for all Australians and said his cabinet is "one of the most experienced in our history".

"We pledge ourselves to serve the people of Australia, for their benefit, to the very best of our ability. We will be a problem-solving government based on values, not ideology. We will strive to govern for all Australians, including those who didn't vote for us," Abbott said.

"We won't forget those who are often marginalised; people with disabilities, Indigenous people and women struggling to combine career and family. We will do our best not to leave anyone behind," he said.

Abbott said he will immediately instruct Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet to prepare legislation to repeal the carbon tax and Treasurer Joe Hockey will also instruct the board of the Clean Energy Corporation to cease operations.

"We are determined to honour our commitments to scrap the carbon tax, to stop the boats, to get the budget under control and to build the roads of the 21st century," he said.

The conservative leader also announced that Australia's contentious new policy on asylum seekers that includes turning back their boats to Indonesia would begin immediately.

"We aim to be a calm, measured, steady and purposeful government that says what it means and does what it says," Abbott said.

"We hope to be judged by what we have done rather than by what we have said we will do," Abbott said. "And we will not spare ourselves - we will not spare ourselves - in order to deserve the trust placed in us this day."

Counting of postal votes is still underway from the September 7 election, but Abbott-led Liberal Party are on track to win 90 seats in the 150-seat House of Representatives to Labor's 55, giving Abbott a clear majority.

Other key ministers sworn in at today's ceremony include Joe Hockey as treasurer, George Brandis as attorney-general, and Nationals leader Warren Truss as deputy prime minister and minister for infrastructure and regional development.


Show Full Article
Next Story