Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_rightMohammed Koya award...

Mohammed Koya award for Roy, Khetan, Thomas Jacob and Veena


Kozhikode: Rural Development Minister Jairam Ramesh will present the prestigious C H Mohammed Koya National Journalism awards to four journalists at a function at nearby Atholi here on Saturday.

The awardees are Prannoy Roy of NDTV and Ashish Khetan of Tehelka from the national journalism field and Thomas Jacob (Malayala Manorama) and Veena George (Indiavision Television Channel) from Malayalam media, P A Hamza, Chairman, Organising Committee of the awards, told reporters here on Thursday.

The award, instituted by the C H Mohammed Koya Journalism Award Trust in association with the Press Club of Calicut, carries a prize money of Rs 1,10,111 and a citation, he said.

The past winners of the award includes Karan Thapar, N P Rajendran, J Gopikrishnan, Barkha Dutt, A G Noorani, S Jayachandran Nair, Rajdeep Sardesai, T J S George and Praful Bidwai.

Union Minister of State for External Affairs, E Ahamed, Kerala ministers P K Kunhalikutty, Shibu Baby John and K C Joseph, Karnataka Home Minister K J George, Karnataka Health Minister U T Khader would also attend the function, he said.

C H Mohammed Koya, known as CH, was born in Annassery, Kozhikode on July 1927. He had served the state in various capacities as MLA, MP, Speaker, Education minister and Chief minister.


Show Full Article
Next Story