Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_rightNew head priests...

New head priests selected for Sabarimala, Malikappuram temples

New head priests selected for Sabarimala, Malikappuram temples

Sabarimala: P.N Narayanan Namboodiri of Thrikkariyoor in Ernakulam and P.M Manoj of Edappal in Malappuram, have been selected the new head priests (Melsanthi) at the Lord Ayyappa Temple and Malikappuram Devi Temple respectively at Sabarimala.

Selection of the two new head priests was made through a draw of lots held at the respective temple sopanam on Wednesday morning.

They will serve for a period of one year.

As per tradition, head priests have to stay at the temple premises throughout the year.

The ceremonial installation of the selected persons as head priests would be held on November 15.

Narayanan Namboodiri and Manoj said it was due to the blessings of Lord Ayyappa that they had got a chance to serve as head priests at the hill shrines.

The hill shrines are visited by millions of devotees during the three-month-long Mandalapooja and Makaravillaku festival seasons, starting next month.

Show Full Article
Next Story