Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightKejriwal holds ‘Janta...

Kejriwal holds ‘Janta Darbar’

Kejriwal holds ‘Janta Darbar’

New Delhi: Aam Aadmi Party convener Arvind Kejriwal Thursday held a ‘Janta Darbar’ outside his Kausambhi residence where many people put forward their complaints relating to water and electricity.

Interacting with people, Kejriwal said: “This is not my win, it is yours. I know that most of you have come here to congratulate me, but I would say this is your win.”

Lawyers, engineers and students were among those who participated in the durbar. Some of the people requested Kejriwal to take up the security cover offered by Delhi Police.

“Arvindji, you have become our leader now. You should agree to take security cover being offered by Delhi Police,” Mukesh, a resident of Allahabad, said.

Besides complaints regarding water and electricity, people also requested that AAP should form a team of lawyers to fight their cases free-of-cost.

“There are a lot of people who are not able to bear the expenditure on legal cases. We demand that AAP should form a team of lawyers who would fight their case at free-of-cost,” said Prakash Singh, a lawyer by profession.

AAP volunteers, who came from Delhi, Rajasthan, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh and also one from Russia, participated in Kejriwal’s Janta Darbar.

Kejriwal said: “I have heard your complaints and suggestions and I would definitely work on them. I invite you to participate in the swearing-in ceremony to be held in Ramlila Maidan on Saturday.”

The AAP convener had Wednesday also held a ‘Janta Darbar’ at his residence to listen to people’s grievances and suggestions.

Kejriwal, who led Aam Admi Party to a spectacular victory in the Assembly polls ending Congress’ 15-year rule, will take oath as Delhi’s seventh Chief Minister on Saturday at historic Ramlila Maidan.

45-year-old Kejriwal and six other AAP MLAs will be sworn-in at a public ceremony at 12 p.m. to which Anna Hazare, Kiran Bedi, Santosh Hegde and all those associated with the anti-corruption movement will be invited.

The Cabinet ministers to take oath along with Kejriwal are Manish Sisodia, Rakhi Birla, Somnath Bharti, Saurabh Bhardwaj, Girish Soni and Satendra Jain.

Show Full Article
Next Story