Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_rightCPI-M finalises list...

CPI-M finalises list of candidates

CPI-M finalises list of candidates

Thiruvananthapuram: All four sitting MPs and party politburo member MA Baby find a place in the list of 15 candidates announced on Thursday by CPI-M, heading the opposition LDF, for the April 10 Lok Sabha polls in Kerala.

Sitting MPs P Karunakaran (Kasargode), M B Rajesh (Palakkad) P K Biju (Alathur) and S Sampath (Attingal) have been renominated, according to the list released here.

Baby, also a former state minister and now an MLA from Kundara in Kollam, will be taking on RSP's N K Premachandran. UDF has allocated the Kollam seat to RSP which walked out of LDF last week.

Another prominent candidate is former state minister and CPI(M) Central Committee member P K Sreemathy in Kannur. Former Rajya Sabha member A Vijayaraghavan has been chosen for Kozhikode.

Springing a surprise, CPI-M also picked five independents as its candidates. They are film actor Innocent (Chalakudy), former IAS officer Christy Fernandez (Ernakulam), former Congress leader Peelipose Thomas (Pathanamthitta), V Abdulrahman (Ponnani) and Joyes George (Idukki).

The new faces figuring in the list are P K Saniaba (Malappuram), A N Shamseer (Vatakara) and C B Chandrababu (Alappuzha).

CPI has alrady announced candidates for four seats allotted to the party -- Bennet B Abraham (Thiruvananthapuram), C N Jayadevan (Thrissur), Sathyan Mokeri (Wayanad) and Chengara Surendran (Mavelikkara).

Janata Dal (S), which has been alloted Kottayam seat in LDF, is yet to choose its contestant.


Show Full Article
Next Story