Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
bengal politics
access_time 2021-04-10T15:31:56+05:30
Varanasi follows Ayodhyas lead
access_time 2021-04-10T11:16:48+05:30
Why is no one talking about Rafale?
access_time 2021-04-09T11:27:04+05:30
No more bloodshed; not any more
access_time 2021-04-08T19:28:29+05:30
A life that enriched the society
access_time 2021-04-07T11:40:02+05:30
Towards a digital emergency?
access_time 2021-02-27T14:50:41+05:30
The slaughter of democracy in Puducherry
access_time 2021-02-24T11:27:21+05:30
Populist Fascism
access_time 2021-01-31T17:19:29+05:30
Media Freedom
access_time 2021-01-31T15:47:07+05:30
Sharjeel Imam
access_time 2021-01-30T15:19:40+05:30
Homechevron_rightSportschevron_rightMary Kom left out of...

Mary Kom left out of Commonwealth Games boxing squad

Mary Kom left out of Commonwealth Games boxing squad

New Delhi: Five-time World Champion and Olympic bronze medallist M.C.Mary Kom failed to find a place in the three-member women's boxing squad for the Glasgow Commonwealth Games after she lost in the selection trials in Patiala Friday.

Mary Kom was making a comeback to competitive boxing after two years following the birth of her third child. She lost out to Pinki Jhangra in the 51kg in the final of the three-day selection trials and failed to qualify for what would have been her maiden Commonwealth Games.

Mary Kom did dominate the bout but the Haryana girl was quick and was more aggressive than her Manipuri opponent. The 24-year-old Pinki shot into limelight in 2009 with a stunning win over Mary Kom in the nationals.

Women's boxing will be making its debut in three weight categories at Commonwealth Games, two years after making its maiden Olympic appearance.

Besides Pinki, the other two girls are former World Champion Sarita Devi (60kg) and Pooja Rani (75kg).

Meanwhile, an eight-member men's team was also finalised and it would be led by Olympic bronze medallist Vijender Singh (75kg), for whom it will be third Commonwealth Games. He won silver in 2006 and bronze in 2010.

The other members are L. Devendro Singh (49kg), Shiva Thapa (52kg), Sumit Sangwan (81kg), Mandeep Jangra (69kg), Dinesh Kumar (91kg) and Praveen More (+91kg).

In the Delhi edition of the 2010 Games, India's men boxers won seven medals, including three gold and four bronze.


Show Full Article
Next Story