Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightTRS govt installed in...

TRS govt installed in Telangana, KCR sworn in as first CM

TRS govt installed in Telangana, KCR sworn in as first CM

Hyderabad: The Telangana Rashtra Samiti government was installed Monday in the country's new 29th state, with party supremo Kalvakuntla Chandrasekhar Rao being sworn in as Chief Minister.

Eleven others, including Rao's son K T Rama Rao and nephew T Harish Rao, were also sworn in as Cabinet Ministers by Governor E S L Narasimhan who administered them oath of office and secrecy at the Raj Bhavan.

Nine other Cabinet Ministers are Mohammed Mahmood Ali, T Rajaiah, Nayani Narasimha Reddy, Eatela Rajender, Pocharam Srinivasa Reddy, T Padma Rao, P Mahender Reddy, Jogu Ramanna and G Jagadish Reddy.

There was no woman representation in the Cabinet, which is expected to be expanded towards the end of this month, TRS sources said.

The swearing-in ceremony was not without controversies, as Chief Minister-designate of successor State of Andhra Pradesh N Chandrababu Naidu skipped it, in what is seen as first signs of discord between the two "regional satraps".

Sources said Telugu Desam Party President was peeved that there was neither a personal invitation nor a telephone call; it was said to be a routine invitation from the administration.

It is no secret that there is no love lost between Rao and Naidu, who fought a fierce electoral battle marked by personal attacks.

Naidu, who was swept to power in the successor State of Andhra Pradesh, is slated to be sworn in as Chief Minister on June 8 at a ceremony to be held between Vijayawada and Guntur.

Earlier today, President's Rule was revoked in Telangana but it would continue to be in force in the residuary Andhra Pradesh till Naidu takes over as Chief Minister.

Narasimhan was sworn in as the Governor of Telangana. Andhra Pradesh High Court Chief Justice Kalyan Jyoti Sengupta administered the oath to Narasimhan, who will be the common Governor of Telangana and residuary Andhra Pradesh.

Show Full Article
Next Story