Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_right18 Uttarakhand...

18 Uttarakhand policemen convicted in 2009 fake gunfight

18 Uttarakhand policemen convicted in 2009 fake gunfight

New Delhi: A Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) court here Friday convicted 18 Uttarakhand policemen in the 2009 killing of a 22-year-old student in Dehradun in a fake gun battle.

CBI Special Judge J.P.S. Malik convicted 18 policemen, who were involved in the Ranbir Singh "encounter" case that rocked the hill state in 2009.

Seven accused, including then inspector Santosh Jaiswal, sub-inspectors Gopal Dutt Bhatt, Rajesh Bisht, Neeraj Kumar, Nitin Chauhan and Chandra Mohan, were convicted on charges of murder.

Ten policemen were convicted for conspiring to murder while one policeman was convicted for framing incorrect record.

The 18 policemen were charge sheeted by the CBI in connection with the case.

Other policemen charge sheeted in the case are constables Ajeet Singh, Satbir Singh, Sunil Saini, Chander Pal, Saurabh Nautiyal, Nagendra Nath, Vikas Chandra Baluni, Sanjay Rawat, Mohan Singh Rana, Inder Bhan Singh, Manoj Kumar and head operator at city control room Jaspal Singh Gosain.

They were arrested for gunning down Ranbir Singh, an MBA student from Ghaziabad, July 3, 2009, on charges that he was attempting to commit crime.

The case was transferred to Delhi by the Supreme Court on the plea of Ranbir's father Ravindra Singh.


Show Full Article
Next Story