Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
His name is Khan, after all
access_time 2021-10-17T20:33:29+05:30
Five years on,  Najeeb still missing
access_time 2021-10-14T11:35:37+05:30
access_time 2021-10-13T13:28:12+05:30
More than just an award, a message
access_time 2021-10-11T09:31:16+05:30
Facebook with a saffron tinge
access_time 2021-10-09T11:15:52+05:30
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightSharad Yadav elected...

Sharad Yadav elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha from Bihar

Sharad Yadav elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha from Bihar

Patna: Ruling JD-U's president Sharad Yadav was Thursday elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from Bihar, an official said.

"Yadav has been declared elected after the deadline for the withdrawal of nomination papers ended at 3 p.m. Thursday in the absence of any other candidate. There will be no formal election," the official said.

Sharad Yadav lost the Lok Sabha election from Madhepura constituency in Bihar last month.

To ensure his presence in parliament so that he can play an active role in the national politics, the Janata Dal-United (JD-U) decided to send him to the Rajya Sabha, a party leader said.

Sharad Yadav was one of the three JD-U candidates who filed their nomination papers for by-election to three Rajya Sabha seats from Bihar. The other two candidates were author-former diplomat Pawan Verma and Ghulam Rasool Baliyawi.

Three Independent candidates - Anil Sharma, Sabir Ali and Dilip Jaiswal - also filed their nomination papers. But Jaiswal Thursday withdrew his papers.

"With four candidates in fray, there will be a formal election for two Rajya Sabha seats June 19," the official said.

Anil Sharma and Sabir Ali are banking on support of rebel JD-U legislators and the likely support of the opposition Bharatiya Janata Party.


Show Full Article
Next Story