Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightSportschevron_rightNarrow win for...

Narrow win for Karnataka

Narrow win for Karnataka

Chennai: Karnataka scrambled to a three-wicket victory against Gujarat to pick up their first points in two matches in the Buchi Babu All-India Cricket Tournament here Wednesday.

A 63-run partnership for the unfinished eighth wicket between Rajoo Bhatkal (38 not out) and Amit Verma (36 not out) saw Karnataka, who lost their opening game to Kerala, recover from a precarious 135/7 to overhaul Gujarat's tally of 195.

Earlier, middle-order batsman Manish Pandey struck a fighting 61 (75b, 9x4, 2x6) to prop up the Karnataka innings that resumed at their overnight score of 27/4.

Elsewhere, Hyderabad, Baroda, Saurashtra and TNCA President's XI won their respective matches in the second round of the league stage.

An unbeaten 114 (186b, 8x4, 3x6) by Dhiren Mistry and his second wicket partnership of 99 runs with Abhimanyu Chauhan (51) featured Baroda's seven-wicket win against TNCA XI as the visitors overhauled the rivals' total of 245 with a measure of comfort.

Saurashtra survived some tense moments before pulling off a slender four-run win over Vidarbha for whom Shalabh Srivatsava (105 n.o., 164b, 7x4, 2x6) and Ranjit Paradkar (59) were the key scorers as they chased a total of 337, but fell short in the end.

Meanwhile, TNCA President's XI cruised to an easy nine-wicket win with openers Abhinav Mukund (104 n.o., 150b, 12x4, 1x6) and Murali Vijay (93, 149b, 9x4, 3x6) putting on 183 runs in 46 overs to help the hosts score 240 for one in reply to Assam's 237.

Brief scores:

Group A: Odisha 233 in 85 overs lost to Hyderabad 234/6 in 84 overs (Benjamin Thomas 58, Naveen Kumar 33, DB Ravi Teja 34, B Sandeep 31, Ahmed Quadri 34 n.o., Basant Mohanty 2/40, Govind Podder 2/37). Points: Hyderabad 4 (4), Odisha 0 (0).

Group B: TNCA XI 245 in 79.4 overs lost to Baroda 246/3 in 73.2 overs (Dhiren Mistry 114 n.o., Aditya Waghmode 32, Abhimanyu Chauhan 51, Ambati Rayudu 46 n.o., Malolan Rangarajan 2/64). Points: Baroda 4 (8), TNCA XI 0 (0).

Group C: Saurashtra 337/9 in 90 overs beat Vidarbha 333 in 88.4 overs (Faiz Fazal 42, Gaurav Upadhyay 38, Shalabh Srivatsava 105 n.o., Ranjit Paradkar 59, Nayan Doshi 3/67, Jaydev Unadkat 2/74, Sandip Maniar 2/53). Points: Saurashtra 4 (8), Vidarbha 0 (0).

Group C: Assam 237 in 82.5 overs lost to TNCA President's XI 240/1 in 55.3 overs (Abhinav Mukund 104 n.o., Murali Vijay 93, K Dinesh Karthik 38 n.o.). Points: TNCA President's XI 4 (8), Assam 0 (0).

Group: Gujarat 195 in 71 overs lost to Karnataka 198/7 in 68.4 overs (Manish Pandey 61, Ryan Ninan 29, Amit Verma 36 n.o., Rajoo Bhatkal 38 n.o., Akshar Patel 3/68, Ishwar Chaudhury 2/28). Points: Karnataka 4 (4), Gujarat (0).

Show Full Article
Next Story