Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightSportschevron_rightMumbai through to last ...

Mumbai through to last 8 in Buchi Babu Trophy

Mumbai through to last 8 in Buchi Babu Trophy

Chennai: Mumbai overcame TNCA XI by just three runs in a Group B match to book their berth in the quarter-finals of the Buchi Babu Trophy All-India cricket tournament, here Saturday.

Also advancing to the knock-out stage from their respective groups were Odisha and Maharashtra from Group A, Baroda (Group B), TNCA President's XI and Saurashtra (Group C), and Kerala and Karnataka (Group D).

Centuries by K.B. Arun Karthick (105, 126b, 15x4) and M. Kaushik Gandhi(111, 171b, 12x4, 1x5) went in vain for TNCA who fell short of Mumbai's total of 366 as the hosts were all out for 363.

Openers Faiz Fazal (103, 151b, 16x4) and Aman Sharma (106, 93b, 15x4, 4x6s) put on 168 runs in 30 overs to propel Vidarbha to a six-wicket win in an inconsequential Group C match.

In Group D, Kerala and Gujarat were involved in a drawn match with the two teams tying on scores. Gujarat needed to reach the target in 78.5 overs to qualify for the quarter-finals on Net Run Rate, but rains and bad light saw them stranded on 387 for nine in 79.4 overs.

The teams shared two points while the draw helped Karnataka to scramble into the round of eight on NRR count.

Sameet Gohil (167, 194b, 20x4, 2x6) played the lead role in Gujarat's chase as he added 143 runs for the second wicket Mandeep Juneja (61), but their efforts did not bear fruit in the end.

Brief scores:

Group B: Mumbai 366 for nine in 90 overs beat TNCA XI 363 in 85.2 overs (K.B. Arun Karthick 105, M. Kaushik Gandhi111, B.Indrajith 86, Pratik Dabholkar 3 for 70, Javed Khan 2 for 64, Sagar Gorivale 2 for 62). Points: Mumbai 4 (4), TNCA XI 0 (0).

Group C: TNCA President's XI 387 for five in 90 overs beat Saurashtra 297 for 5 in 90 overs (Sagar Jogiyani 47, Chirag Pathak 61, Jaydev Shah 70, Arpit Vasavada 36 not out, M. Mohammed 2 for 49). Points: TNCA President's XI 4 (12),Saurashtra 0 (8).

Group C: Assam 244 in 87.5 overs lost to Vidarbha 245 for 4 in 44.4 overs (Faiz Fazal 103, Aman Sharma 106). Vidarbha 4 (4),Assam 0 (0).

Group D: Kerala 387 for 6 in 90 overs drew with Gujarat387 for nine in 79.4 overs (Sameet Gohil1 67, Mandeep Juneja 61, Akshar Patel 43, Parthiv Pate l39, N. Niyas 3 for 55, Raiphi Vincent Gomez 2 for 67, V.A. Jagadeesh 2 for 43). Points:.Kerala 1 (5),.Gujarat 1 (1).


Show Full Article
Next Story