Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
When UAPA is invoked against fact-finding efforts
access_time 2021-11-17T18:18:11+05:30
Aylan Kurdis dying again
access_time 2021-11-27T09:15:10+05:30
Viral job seeker, finally appointed
access_time 2021-11-26T15:57:19+05:30
Oil market price war resurfacing
access_time 2021-11-27T09:18:19+05:30
Child smugglers should be punished
access_time 2021-11-25T12:56:54+05:30
If the fire of hatred is not extinguished
access_time 2021-11-24T09:00:53+05:30
Homechevron_rightEntertainmentchevron_rightIlayaraja gets Sangeet ...

Ilayaraja gets Sangeet Natak Akademi award

Ilayaraja gets Sangeet Natak Akademi award

New Delhi: Legendary South Indian composer Ilayaraja is among nine artistes from the field of music who will receive the Sangeet Natak Akademi Award for 2012 while Grammy Award-winning percussionist T H Vinayakram and veteran playwright Ratan Thiyam are among three personalities chosen for the prestigious Sangeet Natak Akademi fellowship.

The Akademi has selected 36 persons from the fields of Music, Dance, Theatre and Puppetry for the Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards 2012.

Ilayaraja has been awarded for Creative and Experimental Music. The other eight eminent artistes from the field of music who have been chosen for the award are Rajashekhar Mansur and Ajay Pohankar for Hindustani Vocal Music, Sabir Khan (Tabla) and Bahauddin Dagar (Rudra Veena) for Hindustani Instrumental Music.

O S Thyagarajan for Carnatic Vocal Music, Mysore M Nagaraja (Violin) and K V Prasad (Mridangam) for Carnatic Instrumental Music, and Bhai Balbir Singh Ragi (Gurbani) for Other Major Traditions of Music have been selected for the Award 2012.

N Rajam, violinist who performs Hindustani classical music, T H Vinayakram and Ratan Thiyam have been selected for the prestigious the Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowships.

The Fellowship of the Akademi is restricted to a very limited number at a given time. At present, there are only 40 Fellows of the Sangeet Natak Akademi.

The honour of Akademi Fellow carries a purse money of Rs 3 lakh, while Akademi Awards carry Rs 1 lakh besides Tamrapatra and Angavastram.

In the field of Dance, nine eminent practitioners, namely Priyadarsini Govind (Bharatanatyam), Vijay Shankar (Kathak), Vazhengada Vijayan (Kathakali), Vedantam Ramalinga Sastry (Kuchipudi), Sharmila Biswas (Odissi), Jai Narayan Samal (Chhau), Painkulam Damodara Chakyar (Kutiyattam), Jwala Prasad (Music for Dance) and Aditi Mangaldas (Creative & Experimental Dance) have been selected for the Akademi Award 2012.


Show Full Article
Next Story