Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightEntertainmentchevron_right`Celluloid` wins state...

`Celluloid` wins state award for best film

`Celluloid` wins state award for best film

Thiruvananthapuram: `Celluloid,` a feature film directed by Kamal based on the life of J C Daniel, the pioneer of Malayalam cinema has won the Kerala state award for best film for the year 2012.

The Jury chaired by director I V Sasi chose Lal Jose as the best director for the film `Ayalum Nhanum Thammil,` which also won the award for best popular film with artistic appeal.

Prithviraj was adjudged the best actor for his roles in `Celluloid` and `Ayalum Nhanum Thammil,` while Reema Kallingal was chosen the best actress for her performance in `Nidra` and `22 Female Kottayam.` Salim Kumar won the award for best comedy actor.

`Ozhimuri` directed by Madhupal was selected as the second best film. Manoj K Jayan (Kaliyachan) and Ajitha Madathil (Shutter) won the award for second best actors.

Farooq Abdul Rahman won the award for best debut director for the film `Kaliyachan.`

The award for best cinematography went to Madhu Neelakantan for camera work in `Annayum Resulum,` while B Ajith Kumar won the award for editing for the same film.

Manoj Kana won the award for best script (Chayilyam) and Anjali Menon got the award for best screenplay (Manjadikkuru). M Jayachandran was chosen the best music director (song) for `Celluloid,` while the award for background score went to Bijibal (Kaliyachan, Ozhimuri).

Vijay Yesudas (Grandmaster, Spirit) and Sithara (Celluloid) won the awards for best playback singers.

`Papilio Buddha,` a film on the plight of Dalits directed by Jayan Cheriyan won a special jury award.

Other awardees are: Master Minon, Vyjayanthi (best child artistes), Rafeeq Ahamed (lyricist), Suresh Kollam (art direction), M R Rajakrishnan (sound recordist), Jayadev (Colourist), M G Roshan (make-up), S B Sathish (costume) and Vimmy Mariam George (dubbing).

Sreeram and, Vaikom Vijayalakshmi got a special jury mention for their song in `Celluloid,` and Saritha for her role in `Papilio Buddha.`

`Cinemayude Nottangal` by K Gopinath was chosen as the best book on cinema while `Nirangalude Soundya Rashtriyangal` was selected as the best article.

The Jury had to choose from a record number of 84 films produced last year which competed for the honours.

Jury chairman I V Sasi said while there were quality films, more than half of them were `unbearable.`

The Jury recommended that special awards be introduced for live recording and special visual effects. A preliminary panel could select films if the entries exceeded 50 films, they suggested.

The awards were announced by Minister for Cinema K B Ganesh Kumar. He said the State Chalachitra Academy was considering introduction of an entry fee for films from next year.

Show Full Article
Next Story