Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightLF retains Tripura,...

LF retains Tripura, ruling parties ahead in Meghalaya, Nagaland

LF retains Tripura, ruling parties ahead in Meghalaya, Nagaland

Agartala: The Left Front retained its bastion Tripura while the Naga People's Front in Nagaland and Congress in Meghalaya are set to return to power in the northeast states where counting of votes was taken up Thursday.

The Left Front government in Tripura is poised for a fifth straight term since 1993, securing absolute majority by winning 31 seats in the 60-member Assembly (CPI-M 30 and CPI-1) and leading in 16 other seats while it is headed for a two thirds majority.

Prominent winners of the Left Front are Jail Minister Manindra Reang, Finance Minister Badal Chowdhury, Agriculture Minister Aghore Debbarma and Industries Minister Jitendra Chowdhury.

Chief Minister Manik Sarkar is leading from Dhanpur.

The Congress has won five seats, but its allies INPT and NCT have failed to open their accounts.

Among Congress candidates, former speaker who switched over to the Congress from the CPM Jitendra Sarkar won from Barjala, Leader of the Opposition Ratan Lal Nath from Mohanpur and Dilip Sarkar from Badarghat.

In Nagaland, where there is no alliance among ruling Democratic Alliance of Nagaland partners, the Naga People's Front won 22 of the 59 seats and is leading in nine. Election to Tuensang Sadar 1 has been countermanded following the death of a Congress candidate.

Chief Minister Neiphu Rio won from Northern Angami-II by 12,671 votes over his nearest Congress rival Kevise Sogotsu.

Speaker Kiyanilie Peseyie won from Western Angami defeating Congress rival Asu Keyho by 1000 votes. NPCC president, S I Jamir won from the Dimapur-II defeating Independent Savi Liegise by 1615 votes.

In Meghalaya, the Congress won 12 seats and is leading in 17 in the 60-member Assembly.

Among Congress winners are cabinet minister H D R Lyngdoh and Prestone Tynsong. Both retained their seats.

Former alliance partners UDP won four seats and the HSPDP three.

Chief Minister D D Lapang is leading by 7000 votes over his NPP rival Clement G Momin from the Ampati seat.


Show Full Article
Next Story