Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
The silent whimper of advasis
access_time 26 Sep 2023 4:31 AM GMT
The new Parliament
access_time 25 Sep 2023 11:49 AM GMT
Amid India-Canada diplomatic row
access_time 22 Sep 2023 4:00 AM GMT
K Radhakrishnan
access_time 21 Sep 2023 4:00 AM GMT
Womens quota in legislatures
access_time 20 Sep 2023 5:24 AM GMT
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
Remembering the Teachers
access_time 5 Sep 2023 6:24 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightEntertainmentchevron_rightBrazilian filmmaker...

Brazilian filmmaker Julio Bressane to be jury chairman at 20th IFFK

Brazilian filmmaker Julio Bressane to be jury chairman at 20th IFFK

T'Puram: Popular Brazilian filmmaker Julio Bressane will head the five-member core jury for the 20th edition of the International Film Festival of Kerala (IFFK).

The other jury members for the now hugely popular Kerala's premier film festival, which will take place here from December 4-11, are Moussinin Abza, Nadia Dresti, Maxin Williams and Jahnu Barua.

A total of 180 movies, both Indian and international, will be screened in this year's IFFK.

A core committee, appointed by the Kerala government along with a technical committee headed by veteran filmmaker Shaji N. Karun on Thursday, announced two other jury boards for the festival.

Deric Malcom and Lathika Padgongar are members of the Fipresci (international federation of film critics) Jury, while the Netpac (Network for the promotion of Asian Cinema) Jury consists of Siddique Marbak, Swarna Malvarchi and Meenakhi Sheddey.

Karun said that more than 80 foreign films will feature in this year's festival, adding strength to its diversity.

The participating movies are classified into ten categories: International Competition Section(14), Malayalm Cinema (7), Indian Cinema (7), Country Focus (Lithunia, Myanmar)(8), World cinema (80), contemporary Masters (7), Tribute to Vincent Master (3), Retro International (10), Jury Films/Lifetime Achievements 10, and Public Screening (7).

Further, 20 movies will be screened as a special package coming under the categories 3-D, True story, Women's Side and New Directors, with five movies included in each section.

A book revealing the history and legacy of all the 19 IFFKs that has taken place will be published during the opening ceremony, said T.Rajeevnath, chairman of the state-owned Kerala Chalachitra Academy, the main organiser of the event.

It was also decided that eminent Iranian filmmaker Dariush Mehrjui, who led Iran's cinematic renaissance, would be given this year's Lifetime Achievement Award.

Show Full Article
Next Story