Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
The silent whimper of advasis
access_time 26 Sep 2023 4:31 AM GMT
The new Parliament
access_time 25 Sep 2023 11:49 AM GMT
Amid India-Canada diplomatic row
access_time 22 Sep 2023 4:00 AM GMT
K Radhakrishnan
access_time 21 Sep 2023 4:00 AM GMT
Womens quota in legislatures
access_time 20 Sep 2023 5:24 AM GMT
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
Remembering the Teachers
access_time 5 Sep 2023 6:24 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightEntertainmentchevron_rightKerala State Film...

Kerala State Film Awards: Suraj, Lijo Jose Pelissery, Manoj Kana Wins Big

Kerala State Film Awards: Suraj, Lijo Jose Pelissery, Manoj Kana Wins Big

Thiruvananthapuram: State Cultural Minister AK Balan announced the winners of the 50th Kerala State Film Awards on Tuesday. Manoj Kana's 'Kenjira' and the yet-to-be-released 'Vasanthi' were Best Film and Best Second Film, respectively.

Suraj Venjaramoodu received the Best Actor Award for his critically acclaimed performances in Vikruthi and 'Android Kunjappan' while Lijo Jose.Pelissery bagged the Best Director Award for his internationally-acclaimed 'Jallikkattu.'

Kani Kusrithi received the Best Actress award for 'Biriyani'.

Other winners include:

Best Character Actor: Fahadh Faasil (Kumbalangi Nights)

Best Character Actress: Swasika (Vasanthi)

Best Children's Film: Nani

Special Jury Mention: Nivin Pauly, (Moothon)

Anna Ben (Helen), Priyamvada (Thottapan )

Special Jury Award for VFX in a movie: Siddharth Priyadarshan (Kunjali Marakkar: Arabikadalinte Simham)

Best Music Director Sushin Shyam (Kumbalangi Nights)

Best Screenplay PS Rafeeq (Thottappan)

Best Popular Film: Kumbalangi Nights

Debut director Ratheesh Pothuval (Android Kunjappan)

Best Dubbing Artist: Vineeth Krishnan (Lucifer)

Editor: Kiran Das (Ishq)

Best Singer (Male): Najeem Arshad

Best Singer (Female): Madhushree

Best Screenwriter: Rahman Brothers

Best Sound Mixing by Kannan Ganapathi

Best Photographer: Pratap V Nair

Fahadh Faasil, Nasriya, Dileesh Pothen and Shyam Pushkaran won the Producer's Award

Best Article on Cinema goes to Bibin Chandran for "The Madwoman of Madampally" and "The Clown Who Walked On His Hands".

Madhu Ambatt presided over the function. Jury members included director Abrid Shine, Salim Ahmed as well as cinematographer Vipin Mohan, editor L.Bhoominathan, sound engineer S.Radhakrishnan, singer Lathika, actress Jomol, Chalachitra Academy Secratary C. Ajoy and writer Benyamin.

A record 119 films competed this year, of which 5 films were specifically made for children. 71 debut directors were also included in the competition.

Show Full Article
TAGS:KeralastatefilmMalayalam Cinema
Next Story