Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
When ‘Jai Sree Ram’ becomes a death call
access_time 15 Feb 2024 9:54 AM GMT
Strengthening the Indian Republic
access_time 26 Jan 2024 4:43 AM GMT
When the US and UK fight Houthis
access_time 17 Jan 2024 6:08 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_right20 women win polls in...

20 women win polls in Rajasthan, but less than last time

20 women win polls in Rajasthan, but less than last time

Jaipur: In Rajasthan, it is only 20 out of 50 women candidates turned out to be victorious, thus bringing down the women's representation in the House marginally down. The outgoing 15th Rajasthan Assembly has 24 women members, 12 of the Congress, 10 of the BJP, one of the Rashtriya Loktantrik Party (RLP) and an Independent, PTI reported.

Out of the winning women, nine each were of BJP and Congress while two were independents. Out of the fifty fielded candidates, 20 were on BJP ticket, 28 Congress, and two were independents.

The winning women from Congress were Shimla Devi (Anupugarh), Sushila Dudi (Nokha), Rita Chaudhary (Mandawa), Shika Meel Barala (Chomu), Shobharani Kushwah (Dholpur), Anita Jatav (Hindaun), Indra (Bamanwas), Geeta Barwar (Bhopalgarh), and Ramila Khadia (Kushalgarh).

BJP's winners are namely Diya Kumari (Vidhyadhar Nagar), Anita Bhadel (Ajmer South), Manju Baghmar (Jayal), Shobha Chauhan (Sojat), Deepti Kiran Maheshwari (Rajsamand), Kalpna Devi (Ladpura), Vasundhara Raje (Jhalrapatan), Siddhi Kumari (Bikaner East), Nauksham Chaudhary (Kaman).

Ritu Banawat (Bayana) and Priyanka Chaudhary (Barmer) won as Independents.

The BJP returned to power in Rajasthan on Sunday, winning 115 seats out of the 199 where assembly elections were held last week.

The Congress, which was hoping to buck the trend of the incumbent being voted out in the state every five years, bagged 68 seats. The final result of only one seat was awaited, and the Congress was leading by a narrow margin there.

The Bharat Adivasi Party won three seats, the Bahujan Samaj Party two, and the Rashtriya Lok Dal and Rashtriya Loktantrik Party one each. Eight seats were won by Independents.

Polling in 199 of the state's 200 seats was held on November 25. The election in Sriganganagar's Karanpur seat was postponed due to the death of the Congress candidate.

Show Full Article
TAGS:RajasthanwomenElectionsIndia News
Next Story