Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_right9 observes selected by...

9 observes selected by BJP to facilitate naming of new CMs

9 observes selected by BJP to facilitate naming of new CMs

BJP leaders Rajnath Singh, Manohar Lal Khattar and Arjun Munda | Photo: PTI

New Delhi: Nine central observers would be present for the election of legislative party leaders in Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, and Chhattisgarh on Friday, the BJP announced after three days of deliberations. In all three states, the chief ministers will be the leaders of the legislature parties.

Union minister Rajnath Singh, Rajya Sabha MP and BJP vice-president Saroj Pandey, and party general secretary Vinod Tawde (for Rajasthan); Union ministers Arjun Munda and Sarbananda Sonowal, and BJP general secretary Dushwant Kumar Gautam (for Chhattisgarh); and Chief Minister of Haryana Manohar Lal Khattar, OBC Morcha president K Laxman, and BJP national general secretary Asha Lakra (for Madhya Pradesh) are among the nine observers appointed by the Parliamentary Board of the BJP, The New Indian Express reported.

The meetings to select the leaders of the legislative parties will take place by Sunday or Monday, according to high-ranking BJP sources.

One of the appointed central observers told this newspaper that in order to expedite the procedures, they would arrive at the assigned state capital by early Saturday.

“We can’t say anything. As central observers, we will be overseeing that the meetings consensually elect legislature party leaders. I think everything will be known to all by Sunday or Monday afternoon,” he remarked. The observers’ role is to ensure the meeting to pick the CM is fair and consensual.

Show Full Article
TAGS:BJPAssembly polls
Next Story