Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
K Radhakrishnan
access_time 21 Sep 2023 4:00 AM GMT
Womens quota in legislatures
access_time 20 Sep 2023 5:24 AM GMT
Extended Congress CWC meet raises hopes
access_time 19 Sep 2023 5:11 AM GMT
The saboteurs in the market of hate
access_time 18 Sep 2023 9:47 AM GMT
CAG report amidst Keralas financial crisis
access_time 16 Sep 2023 4:28 AM GMT
Vigilance needed, even for prevention
access_time 15 Sep 2023 5:17 AM GMT
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
Remembering the Teachers
access_time 5 Sep 2023 6:24 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightAAP, BJP get 3 seats...

AAP, BJP get 3 seats each in MCD standing committee poll

AAP, BJP get 3 seats each in MCD standing committee poll

New Delhi: The results of the MCD Standing Committee poll that was conducted on February 24 were released on Thursday.

The committee will be made up of three representatives from each of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), in an equal number.

Earlier, the Delhi High Court had set aside the decision of Mayor Shelly Oberoi to call for a re-poll. The High Court had then directed her to declare the results of the poll.

Despite the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) holding the majority in the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD), the outcome of the standing committee election could have a significant impact on the functioning of the civic body.

This is because the standing committee, responsible for making executive decisions, now comprises an equal number of members from both the AAP and the opposition Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

BJP councillors Kamaljeet Sehrawat and Sikha Roy had approached the Delhi High Court challenging the decision of mayor Shelly Oberoi to go for a re-poll to elect the member of the panel.

The petitioners put forth claims asserting that the mayor, affiliated with the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and serving as the returning officer, improperly invalidated a vote and disrupted the election proceedings upon realising that the resulting outcome would be politically unfavourable.

On February 24, members of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) engaged in physical altercations, exchanging kicks, punches, and shoving, while shouting ensued.

The dispute arose when Mayor Oberoi invalidated a vote. Additionally, the high court, in its ruling, instructed that the "disputed vote" be considered in favour of BJP councillor Pankaj Luthra.

With inputs from IANS

Show Full Article
Next Story