Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightAAP's Durgesh Pathak...

AAP's Durgesh Pathak wins key Delhi bypoll, Loses in Punjab to Akali Dal

AAPs Durgesh Pathak wins key Delhi bypoll, Loses in Punjab to Akali Dal

Aam Aadmi Party's Durgesh Pathak has won Delhi's Rajinder Nagar assembly bypoll. He defeated BJP candidate Rajesh Bhatia by a margin of over 11,000 votes.

Delhi Chief Electoral Officer Ranbir Singh said all 16 rounds of counting have been completed. Official data shows that Pathak polled 40,319 votes and Bhatia got 28,851 votes. Congress candidates received only 2,014 votes.

The polling on June 23 had a low turnout of 43.75% even with 14 candidates.

On the other hand, AAP has lost the Punjab by-elections. The ruling party failed to win the Sangrur Lok Sabha seat left vacant by Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann. The Sangrur seat was a matter of prestige for the Aam Aadmi Party.

AAP candidate Gurmail Singh was defeated by the Shiromani Akali Dal (Amritsar) candidate Simranjit Singh Mann by a margin of over 7,000 votes. Congress candidate Dalvir Singh Goldy, BJP's Kewal Dhillon, and the Akali Dal's Kamaldeep Kaur Rajoana were at the third, fourth, and fifth spots.

The bypoll was necessitated due to the resignation of CM Bhagwant Mann from the Lok Sabha after he was elected as an MLA in the state assembly elections. He won the Sangrur seat in 2014 and 2019.

The bypoll to the Sangrur Lok Sabha seat also saw a low turnout of 45.30%.

Show Full Article
TAGS:AAP Aam Aadmi Party Delhi bypoll Punjab bypoll Sangrur Durgesh Pathak Gurmail Singh Simranjit Singh Mann Bhagwant Mann Punjab CM 
Next Story