Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
Remembering the Teachers
access_time 5 Sep 2023 6:24 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightAndhra CM backs the...

Andhra CM backs the concept of "One district, One airport"

Andhra CM backs the concept of One district, One airport

A view of new terminal building at Vijayawada airport near Gannavaram. (DC Image)

Jagan Mohan Reddy, the chief minister of Andhra Pradesh, has praised the concept of 'one district, one airport' and instructed officials to expedite the construction of airports at Bhogapuram and Dagadarthi in Vizianagaram and Nellore.

The chief minister of the state instructed the officials to plan so that all local airports are identical at his review meeting held on Thursday.

He urged the officials to focus on the development and expansion works on the existing six airports rather than merely developing basic infrastructure for the airports. The runways should also be developed so that even Boeing airplanes can land in the airports," he said.

Considering the increasing traffic at Gannavaram airport catering to Vijayawada and Amaravati, the chief minister stressed that special attention should be given to its expansion.

Chief Minister Ashok Gajapati was told about the work being done at airports in Tirupati, Kadapa, Rajahmundry, Visakhapatnam, Vijayawada and Kurnool.

Additionally, the chief minister instructed the officials to proceed with the construction of three ports and nine fishing harbors on a priority basis. The chief minister was informed that work will begin soon on Bhavanapadu and Ramayapatnam ports.

The first phase of work on four fishing harbors is set to be completed by October, the officials said.

In the second phase, officials stated that they will take care of the remaining five harbors as part of the specified timeline, and bids will be finalized soon.

Among those present at the meeting were Industries Minister Mekapati Goutham Reddy and Chief Secretary Sameer Sharma.

Show Full Article
Next Story