Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
After a century of Vaikom Satyagraha
access_time 29 March 2023 6:25 AM GMT
The new India of exclusion
access_time 28 March 2023 5:08 AM GMT
It doesnt end with Rahul hounding
access_time 25 March 2023 4:20 AM GMT
20 years after the Iraq war
access_time 24 March 2023 8:50 AM GMT
Womens Day: Building a digitally equal world
access_time 8 March 2023 4:38 AM GMT
Women must arise now and embrace equity
access_time 7 March 2023 10:52 AM GMT
The criminal case against Vladimir Putin
access_time 27 Feb 2023 9:46 AM GMT
Censorship that stifles free speech
access_time 24 Feb 2023 7:02 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightBanking Regulation...

Banking Regulation Bill moves to President's table for ratification

Banking Regulation Bill moves to Presidents table for ratification

New Delhi: Banking Regulation (Amendment) Bill 2020 has been tabled for President's nod as Rajya Sabha passed the bill by voice vote on Tuesday.

The bill introduced by Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman proposes to protect the interest of the depositors by bringing Cooperative Banks under the Reserve Bank of India's regulatory framework.

The Lok Sabha had passed the bill on September 16.

During the debate on the bill, the Opposition raised that Cooperative Societies is a State subject under Schedule VII of the Constitution.

The Finance Minister defended that the bill intends to regulate banking activities only and does not apply to other cooperative societies.

The bill has excluded primary agricultural credit societies and cooperative societies whose principal business is long term financing for agricultural development. However, the bill stipulates such societies to refrain from using the words 'bank', 'banker' or banking in their names.

The new regulation will also empower the RBI to supersede the board of directors of cooperative societies in public interest or to protect depositors after consultation with the concerned state government.

Show Full Article
TAGS:Banking regulation law amendment RBI President Nirmala Sitharaman 
Next Story