Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightBig blow to BJP as...

Big blow to BJP as Chaudhary Singh becomes 11th MLA to quit party-alliance in UP

Big blow to BJP as Chaudhary Singh becomes 11th MLA to quit party-alliance in UP

In yet another big blow to the BJP within a span of three days, Uttar Pradesh MLA Chaudhary Amar Singh of the Apna Dal on Thursday quit the BJP-led alliance just weeks ahead of the assembly polls.

This is the eleventh resignation from the Yogi Adityanath-led cabinet in three days.

As per reports, Mr Singh accused the government of being a liar and added that no development has been made in the state. "I met Akhilesh Yadav today, will join him. Soon more people will join us," Mr Singh said.

The statement was both a warning and an attack on the ruling BJP that wants to retain the state for a second consecutive term in the crucial seven-phased February-March elections.

Singh is likely to contest from Shohratgarh seat on an SP ticket.

Apna Dal (Sonelal) MLA RK Verma, who represents the Vishwanath Ganj seat of Pratapgarh, also announced that he is leaving the party.

He told PTI that he will formally resign on Friday and elaborate on the reasons why he was quitting the party.

Ten BJP MLAs - including three ministers - have quit the BJP since Tuesday. It started with the exit of top minister SP Maurya, followed by three MLAs close to him on the same day - Bhagwati Sagar, Raushan Lal Verma, and Brijesh Prajapati.

Yesterday, another state minister Dara Singh Chauhan and MLA Awtar Singh Bhadana quit. Mr Bhadana is headed to the RLD, an ally of Akhilesh Yadav's Samajwadi Party.

Today, UP Minister Dharam Singh Saini, and three other BJP MLAs - Vinay Shakya, Mukesh Verma and Bala Avasthi - also left the party.

All three UP ministers who have quit are key OBC (Other Backward Class) leaders, claiming that the interests of the community are being neglected.

Swami Prasad Maurya, who has also joined forces with Akhilesh Yadav, has claimed the party he sides with always wins - first Mayawati's party, then the BJP, and now Samajwadi Party (may follow the trend).

But there was a pushback from the BJP as expected. "I don't know why Swami Prasad Maurya quit but I appeal to him, don't quit but let us talk. Decisions taken in haste can backfire," Deputy Chief Minister

Keshav Prasad Maurya said in a tweet that did not impress the defectors.

Last year, another influential OBC face and BJP ally, Om Prakash Rajbhar, had crossed over to the Samajwadi Party.

Show Full Article
TAGS:UP assembly pollsUP MinisterUp mla
Next Story