Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Time out in the wrestlers protest
access_time 2 Jun 2023 5:15 AM GMT
When the school bell rings again
access_time 1 Jun 2023 12:13 PM GMT
Manipur strife should be stemmed
access_time 30 May 2023 4:23 AM GMT
Story, screenplay and direction: Hatred
access_time 29 May 2023 8:07 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightBihar polls: BJP could...

Bihar polls: BJP could emerge as biggie, as others trail

Bihar polls: BJP could emerge as biggie, as others trail

Representational Image, credit: PTI

New Delhi: It is too early to say if the trends will solidify in favour of NDA in Bihar.

It looks like the coalition is well on course to stay in power, while its rivals face long odds. Perhaps nothing is more notable than BJP emerging as the single-largest party in the state.

This is all the more so with the Congress failing to repeat its 2015 performance of 27 seats.The touted Grand Alliance, which appeared as a force to be reckoned with, is currently trailing behind the NDA.

At 12 noon the BJP is coming up as the single-largest party with 73 seats. While the RJD is leading at 57 seats, the JDU in 51 and the Congress in 21 seats.

Congress leaders say it's early to comment on the counting trends. But the BJP is more comfortable on seats fought by the Congress, reports IANS.

The RJD, though popular and poised for big gains, appears not to have seized the moment, translating popularity into votes—as per trends till 12 noon.

Congress leaders feel that though the party contested on 70 seats but they were tough contests as on these seats the BJP had a strong presence.

The RJD conceded those seats which were either urban seats or were strong BJP bastions.

Bihar voted for the 243-member Assembly in three phases -- October 28, November 3 and November 7.

The RJD had won 80 seats in the 2015 Assembly polls, while the JD(U) won 71 seats. The BJP had won 53 seats and the LJP managed two seats.

The Bihar election is being seen as a referendum on Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, whose JD(U) is in alliance with the BJP-led NDA. Nitish Kumar has governed Bihar three times in a row since 2005.

IANS report with edits

Show Full Article
TAGS:Bihar poll updatesBJPRJD
Next Story