Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
When ‘Jai Sree Ram’ becomes a death call
access_time 15 Feb 2024 9:54 AM GMT
Strengthening the Indian Republic
access_time 26 Jan 2024 4:43 AM GMT
When the US and UK fight Houthis
access_time 17 Jan 2024 6:08 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightBJP attempts at...

BJP attempts at non-savarna appeasement with new cabinet ministers in UP

BJP attempts at non-savarna appeasement with new cabinet ministers in UP

Ahead of the UP assembly elections scheduled to be held next year, seven ministers from the state were inducted into the cabinet on Wednesday. The seven ministers are Anupriya Patel, Pankaj Chaudhary, BL Varma, SP Singh Baghel, Bhanu Pratap Verma, Kaushal Kishore, and Ajay Mishra.

Of the seven, six are non-upper castes. Ajal Mishra is the sole Brahmin. While Patel and Chaudhary are from the Kurmi caste, Varma is from the Lodh community and Baghel is an OBC (Gadaria) but claims to be a scheduled caste. Bhanu Pratap Verma and Kaushal Kishore belong to the Dalit community.

"There was no need to focus on upper castes since we have a Chief Minister who belongs to the Thakur community and a Deputy Chief Minister who is from the Brahmin community. The party wants to send a clear message that it seeks participation in power of sections of society that have not got their due," a party functionary said.

Notably, the BJP has carefully avoided Yadav OBCs in an attempt to damage the Samajwadi Party.

Show Full Article
TAGS:UP assembly electionsCabinet reshuffle
Next Story