Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightBJP sweeps another...

BJP sweeps another autonomous body in Assam

BJP sweeps another autonomous body in Assam

BJP party flags, representational Image, credit: PTI

Guwahati : The ruling BJP in Assam on Saturday bagged 33 of the 36 seats to Tiwa Autonomous Council (TAC), days after winning the Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) polls.

Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal thanked the Prime Minister, Home Minister Amit Shah, Nadda and state party leaders and workers for the massive victory.

BJP President J.P. Nadda joined the CM greeting: "Thank you Assam for this massive mandate to BJP in Tiwa Autonomous Council elections. Assam is progressing towards a brighter future & the people continue to keep their faith in the vision of PM @narendramodiji. Congratulation to @ sarbanandsonwal, @himantabiswa & Team @BJP4Assam."

Calling it "What a momentous day!," Assam Finance and Health Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma added, " People of Assam reasserts faith in PM Sri @narendramodias @BJP4India registers a massive victory in Tiwa Autonomous Council, winning 34 out of 36 seats. Heartfelt gratitude to people and our committed @ BJP4Assam karyakartas."

A total of 124 candidates contested in the polls held on Thursday in 187 polling stations across18 constituencies in four districts: Nagaon, Morigaon, Hojai and Kamrup Metropolitan.

In the BTC polls last week, BJP was in alliance with two other new allies -- United People's Party Liberal (UPPL) and Gana Suraksha Parishad (GSP).

After the outcome of the BTC polls, the BJP dumped the BPF and announced to support its new allies UPPL and GSP to take power in the politically significant autonomous body.

The BJP fought against the Bodoland People's Front (BPF) despite ruling Assam together since 2016 along with the AGP.

In the 40-member BTC polls, BPF became the single largest party winning 17 seats while the UPPL bagged 12 seats, BJP 9, and the GSP and Congress one seat each.

The poll outcomes will boost BJP's confidence in the elections to the 126-member Assam Assembly next year.

IANS report with edits

Show Full Article
TAGS:BJP Assam polls 
Next Story