Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightDelhi MCD election:...

Delhi MCD election: AAP wins 4 seats, Congress gets 1

Delhi MCD election: AAP wins 4 seats, Congress gets 1

Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal

New Delhi: The AAP won four out of five wards and the Congress one in the municipal bypolls in Delhi, results of which were announced today, NDTV reported. More than 50 per cent of voters cast their votes in the municipal corporation bypolls in the five wards on Sunday.

Congress candidate Chaudhary Zubair Ahmad defeated AAP candidate Mohammad Ishraq Khan by 10,642 votes in Chauhan Bangar ward, PTI reported. The AAP candidates won from Kalyanpuri, Rohin-C, Trilokpuri and Shalimar Bagh Northwards.

Following the sweeping victory, the AAP convener and Delhi chief minister, Arvind Kejriwal took to Twitter congratulate on the win. "The people of Delhi once again voted in the name of work. Congratulations to everyone. The 15-year-old BJP's misrule in MCD has disturbed the people. People are now eager to form Aam Aadmi Party government in MCD also," he wrote on Twitter.

Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia in a tweet congratulated the party workers for the victory and said people were fed up with the BJP and would bring in Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal's politics of honesty and work in the municipal corporation of Delhi (MCD) polls next year.

"The people of Delhi have expressed their confidence in us. They are fed up with BJP and this election is an indication of that. In the 2022 Delhi municipal polls, BJP will be wiped out: Aam Aadmi Party leader and Delhi Deputy CM Manish Sisodia on Delhi MCD bypoll results," the tweet by Manish Sisodia read.

More than 50 per cent votes were cast in the bypolls for the five municipal wards held on February 28.

Out of the five wards, four were held by the AAP while Shalimar Bagh North had a BJP councillor.

Show Full Article
TAGS:Delhi civic bypolls AAP govt congress 
Next Story