Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Are  Khalistanists returning?
access_time 22 March 2023 5:12 AM GMT
Trading votes for higher rubber price?
access_time 21 March 2023 5:26 AM GMT
Unmuting democracy
access_time 20 March 2023 6:21 AM GMT
Womens Day: Building a digitally equal world
access_time 8 March 2023 4:38 AM GMT
Women must arise now and embrace equity
access_time 7 March 2023 10:52 AM GMT
The criminal case against Vladimir Putin
access_time 27 Feb 2023 9:46 AM GMT
Censorship that stifles free speech
access_time 24 Feb 2023 7:02 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightMadhyamam chief editor...

Madhyamam chief editor O. Abdur Rahman wins the Media Academy Award for best editorial

Madhyamam chief editor O. Abdur Rahman wins the Media Academy Award for best editorial

Thiruvananthapuram: Kerala Media Academy's Media Award 2021 has been announced. Madhyamam chief editor O. Abdur Rahman was honoured with the V. Karunakaran Nambiar Award for best editorial, said academy chairman R.S. Babu. Madhyamam's Kuttanad correspondent Deepu Sudhakaran received the Mookkannur Narayanan Award for Best Local Journalism.

The award is for an editorial titled 'Legal action against superstitions' which calls for action against the growing superstitions and witchcraft in Kerala, a state known for its progressive outlook. The award winner was selected by a jury consisting of Former DGP A. Hemachandran, Dr. Sebastian Paul, Dr. Mini Sukumaran.

Deepu Sudhakaran is being honoured for the series Nellarayude Kanneer (Tears of Rice Bowl) which depicted the waterlogged state of Kuttanad prevailing for most of the year. P.S. Rajasekharan, V.M. Ahmed, and Sarita Verma were on the jury. The award consists of Rs 25,000, a citation, and a sculpture.

The award for the best human interest story was given to Mangalam Daily's Malappuram District Correspondent V.P. Nisar for Udalinte Azhakalavukal. Chowvara Parameswaran Award for Best Investigative Report went to Samakalim Malayalam Varika Patradhi Samiti member P.S. Ramshad for Kazhiyilla Charitram Mayikkan, Satyangalum (can't erase history, truths too). New Indian Express photographer Vincent Pulikal was chosen for the Best News Photography Award.

The visual journalist award was given to Krishnaendu from Asianet News for Kakkathozhilalikalude Kayal (the lake of clam workers). N.R. Sudharmadas (Kerala Kaumudi) and Arun Sridhar (Malayala Manorama) were awarded Special Jury Mention for Photography.

Show Full Article
TAGS:O. Abdur Rahman best editorial Kuttanad Deepu Sudhakaran 
Next Story