Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
    Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightMPs suspended for...

    MPs suspended for causing ruckus: RS Chairman

    MPs suspended for causing ruckus: RS Chairman

    Rajya Sabha Chairman M. Venkaiah Naidu, Image credit: PTI

    New Delhi : Following pandemonium in the upper house on Sunday, Rajya Sabha Chairman M. Venkaiah Naidu suspended several lawmakers accused of causing ruckus.

    After V. Murlidharan, the MoS for Parliamentary Affairs, moved the motion, the House suspended suspended Derek O' Brien and Dola Sen of TMC, Rajeev Satav, Ripun Bora, Nasir Hussain of Congress, Sanjay Singh of AAP and K.K. Ragesh and E. Kareem of CPM.

    The members resorted to sloganeering after the resolution was moved by voice vote in the Rajya Sabha.

    Calling it a sad day for democracy, Chairman Naidu said that it's "unfortunate" and "condemnable", and rejected the no confidence motion against Deputy Chairman Harivansh Narain Singh citing rules.

    Defending the Deputy Chairman, Naidu said that he had gone on records of the house and followed the rule.

    The House saw unruly scenes on Sunday when Trinamool MP Derek O'Brien approached the Chair and tried to snatch a mike while citing from the rule book.

    When his objections were overruled, O'Brien tore the rule book by calling the Bills "Kala Kanoon" or black laws, leading to adjournment of the House for a brief period.

    The Trinamool leader was also heard saying: "You cannot do this" to the Chair. The aides of the Deputy Chair, who was conducting the House proceedings, stepped forward to shield him.

    Alongside, many opposition members reached the Well of the House to register their protests against the Farm Bills.

    With inputs from IANS

    Show Full Article
    TAGS:MPs suspended ruckus in Lok Sabha RS Chairman 
    Next Story