Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
May that spark not be extinguished
access_time 2 Dec 2023 8:55 AM GMT
A Constitution always in the making
access_time 27 Nov 2023 11:43 AM GMT
Debunking myth of Israel’s existence
access_time 23 Oct 2023 7:01 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightNo limit to his...

No limit to his self-obsession: Congress over train name ‘NaMo Bharat’

No limit to his self-obsession: Congress over train name ‘NaMo Bharat’

New Delhi: The congress on Thursday said there is "simply no limit to his self-obsession" taking a swipe at Prime Minister Narendra Modi after a report said the Regional Rapid Transit System (RRTS) was to be named as 'NaMo Bharat'.

Reports today said PM Modi on Friday inaugurated the priority section of Delhi-Ghaziabad-Meerut RRTS Corridor and flagged off RapidX train connecting Sahibabad to Duhai Depot.

The government sources on Thursday said India’s first regional rapid train between Delhi and Meerut will be renamed “Namo Bharat”.

Union Housing and Urban Affairs Minister Hardeep Singh Puri later confirmed the naming in a post on X, saying, “Inauguration of the country’s first Regional Rapid Train #NamoBharat between Sahibabad & Duhai Depot by PM Sh @narendramodi Ji on 20 October 2023 will mark the beginning of a new era of state-of-the-art ultra modern urban commute in the country.”

A previous statement from the Prime Minister’s Office on Wednesday said PM Modi would open the priority section of the Delhi-Ghaziabad-Meerut Regional Rapid Transit System (RRTS) corridor, The Indian Express reported.

Reacting to the naming, Congress general secretary Jairam Ramesh said in a post on X, "After Namo stadium now Namo trains. There is simply no limit to his self-obsession." The cricket stadium in Ahmedabad is named after Prime Minister Modi.

Another Congress leader, Pawan Khera, said, "Why even put Bharat? Just change the name of the country to Namo and be done with it."

A 17-km priority section of the Delhi-Ghaziabad-Meerut RRTS Corridor is slated to be opened for passengers on October 21, a day after its inauguration.

This section between Sahibabad and Duhai Depot has five stations — Sahibabad, Ghaziabad, Guldhar, Duhai and Duhai Depot.

The foundation stone for the Delhi-Ghaziabad-Meerut corridor was laid by Prime Minister Modi on March 8, 2019.

In line with his vision to transform regional connectivity in the country through construction of new world-class transport infrastructure, the RRTS project is being developed, the Prime Minister's Office (PMO) had said in a statement on Wednesday.

PTI with inputs from other sources

Show Full Article
TAGS:New DelhiIndia News
Next Story