Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
The new Parliament
access_time 25 Sep 2023 11:49 AM GMT
Amid India-Canada diplomatic row
access_time 22 Sep 2023 4:00 AM GMT
K Radhakrishnan
access_time 21 Sep 2023 4:00 AM GMT
Womens quota in legislatures
access_time 20 Sep 2023 5:24 AM GMT
Extended Congress CWC meet raises hopes
access_time 19 Sep 2023 5:11 AM GMT
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
Remembering the Teachers
access_time 5 Sep 2023 6:24 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightNo Shiva Sena...

No Shiva Sena existing, 4 Thackeray MLAs ready to leave: Union minister Rane

No Shiva Sena existing, 4 Thackeray MLAs ready to leave: Union minister Rane

Mumbai: Maharashtra Chief Minister Eknath Shinde's faction of Shiv Sena has been chipping away at Uddhav Thackeray faction, leaving behind only a skeleton of a flourishing party.

Now Union Minister Narayan Rane claims that four remaining lawmakers of Uddhav Thackeray showed willingness to cross over to the rival camp.

Rane says Thackeray faction of the Sena is almost finished as it is no longer in existence.

The remaining five to six of the 56 MLAs, he claimed, are on the way out with four of them already in touch with him to join the rival camp, according to a report in India Today.

Just days ago, Nihar Thackeray, the grandson of Shiv Sena founder Bal Thackeray, declared support to the Eknath Shinde faction.

He was quoted as saying by PTI that he was supporting chief minister Shinde for taking forward the legacy of his late grandfather.

Nihar Thackeray also expressed willingness to campaign for the upcoming Andheri East Assembly byelection as well as the Mumbai civic body polls.

Nihar is the son of Bindumadhav Thackeray, the eldest son of Bal Thackeray; he is part of Chief Minister Shinde's legal team engaged in fighting for titles of Shiva Sena in the Supreme Court.

After an edgy political drama in the state, Shinde camp formed the government in the state causing a split in Shive Sena.

Afterwards, the Election Commission barred both camps from using the party name and the 'bow and arrow' symbol.

Uddhav Thackeray camp has given the name "Shiv Sena Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray" to go with the symbol of "flaming torch".

While The Eknath Shinde-led faction will be called 'Balasahebanchi Shiv Sena' with the election symbol of 'two swords and a shield' .

Show Full Article
TAGS:No Shiva SenaUddhav ThackerayShinde-camp
Next Story