Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
May that spark not be extinguished
access_time 2 Dec 2023 8:55 AM GMT
A Constitution always in the making
access_time 27 Nov 2023 11:43 AM GMT
Debunking myth of Israel’s existence
access_time 23 Oct 2023 7:01 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightPrivilege notice...

Privilege notice against TMC leader Derek O'Brien, AAP leader Raghav Chadha referred to Rajya Sabha panel for examination

Raghav Chadha

New Delhi: Complaints related to the privilege of the Rajya Sabha against Trinamool Congress (TMC) leader Derek O'Brien and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) member Raghav Chadha have been referred to the privileges committee by Rajya Sabha Chairman Jagdeep Dhankhar.

The complaints were filed by members of the BJP and alleged violations of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Council of States. The Rajya Sabha secretariat disclosed that Laxmikant Bajpayee and Surendra Singh Nagar, both from the BJP, filed a complaint against Derek O'Brien, while Sushil Kumar Modi and Deepak Prakash lodged a complaint against Raghav Chadha.

The complaint against Derek O'Brien was based on his continuous publication of clippings from his statement made in the House on July 20 through his verified personal Twitter handle, despite the chairman expunging those statements. The complaint accused him of amplifying the expunged statements through a series of tweets, which allegedly insulted the dignity of the Council and the authority of the Chair, reported ANI.

Regarding Raghav Chadha, the complaint dated July 25 accused him of presenting misleading facts to the media on July 24 concerning the suspension of member Sanjay Singh from the service of the Council during the Monsoon session. The complaint alleged that Chadha's comments in an interview violated provisions contained in the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Council of States and amounted to an affront to the authority of the Chair and a breach of privilege.

"He had inter-alia reportedly stated that Shri Sanjay Singh, Hon'ble Member, would continue to sit inside the Chamber despite being suspended from the service of the Council violates the provisions contained under Rule 256 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Council of States (Rajya Sabha)," said the notice.

Another notice of alleged breach of privilege, jointly submitted by Dr. K Laxman and S Phangnon Konyak against Raghav Chadha, referred to news coverage by a private television channel, claiming that the AAP leader grossly misrepresented the proceedings of the House.

Given the gravity of the complaints, the Rajya Sabha Chairman has referred both matters to the privileges committee for a thorough examination, investigation, and a subsequent report on the issues raised.

"On consideration of the facts, the Hon'ble Chairman, Rajya Sabha has referred the matter under Rule 203 of Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Council of States (Rajya Sabha) to the Committee of Privileges for examination, investigation, and report," said a bulletin issued by secretariat late on Thursday night.

Show Full Article
TAGS:Derek O'BrienRaghav ChadhaPrivilege notice
Next Story