Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Womens Day: Building a digitally equal world
access_time 8 March 2023 4:38 AM GMT
Women must arise now and embrace equity
access_time 7 March 2023 10:52 AM GMT
The criminal case against Vladimir Putin
access_time 27 Feb 2023 9:46 AM GMT
Censorship that stifles free speech
access_time 24 Feb 2023 7:02 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightRajyasabha Deputy...

Rajyasabha Deputy Chairman Election: JD(U) MP Harivansh files nomination as NDA candidate,BJP issues whip

Rajyasabha Deputy Chairman Election: JD(U) MP Harivansh files nomination as NDA candidate,BJP issues whip

New Delhi: Janata Dal (United) MP Harivansh on Wednesday filed nomination for the post of the Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha as a candidate of the BJP-led NDA. Harivansh filed nomination in presence of Leader of Rajya Sabha Thawarchand Gehlot and NDA ally SAD leader Naresh Gujral.

As politics is brewing over the election for the post, the ruling BJP has issued a three-line whip to all its Rajya Sabha members to be present in the House on September 14, the day the House reconvenes and the election takes place.

The whip issued by Shiv Pratap Shukla, BJP's Chief Whip in the Upper House, cited, "very important legislative business".

The whip instructs, "All members of BJP in Rajya Sabha are therefore, requested to be positively present in the House throughout the day on Monday, September 14, 2020 and support the government's stand".

The Congress had mooted the idea of the Opposition putting up a joint candidate for the RS Deputy Chairman's post. The name of Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) leader Tiruchi Siva has almost been finalised as the common candidate by the Opposition.

The monsoon session of Parliament is scheduled from September 14 to October 1. The election for the post will be held at 3 p.m. on the first day of the session ie on September 14.

The nomination filing process began on September 7 and will conclude on September 11.

The election for the post was necessitated as the incumbent Harivansh completed his term as a member of the Rajya Sabha this year.

In 2018, he had defeated Congress's BK Hariprasad and was elected the Deputy Chairman.

Harivansh is likely to be elected to the post again as BJP floor managers are confident of securing the support of about 140 MPs, including the fence sitters from YSR Congress, TRS and BJD.

The strength of the BJP-led NDA has also gradually increased to 113 in the house with an effective strength of 245 members.

Floor managers of NDA are trying to build consensus among all parties so that Harivansh could be elected unanimously.

(With Inputs from IANS and PTI)

Show Full Article
TAGS:RajyaSabha Elections JDU NDA Candidate 
Next Story