Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightRemains of 6 soldiers...

Remains of 6 soldiers who died in helicopter crash identified

Remains of 6 soldiers who died in helicopter crash identified

Kritika and Tarini Rawat pay their respects to and perform their parents funeral rites at Brar Crematorium (Image Credit: PTI)

4 Indian Air Force personnel and 2 Army officers have been positively identified from amongst the 10 remaining deceased in the helicopter crash In Coonoor, Tamil Nadu, that took the lives of Chief of Defense Staff Gen. Bipin Rawat and his wife on Wednesday.

WThe army also said, according to ANI, positive identification of mortal remains of Lance Naik Vivek Kumar and Lance Naik B Sai Teja has been done. The news agency reported citing the IAF air transport plan for them as well as the identified army soldiers will follow.

"The mortal remains have been released to close family members this morning. Mortal remains will move by air for last rites with appropriate military honour. Wreaths will be laid at the Base Hospital, Delhi Cantonment prior to departure," ANI cited an army official as saying.

Those remaining to be identified are Lieutenant Colonel Harjinder Singh, Wing Commander Prithvi Singh Chauhan (pilot), Squadron Leader Kuldeep Singh (co-pilot), Junior Warrant Officers Rana Pratap Das and Arakkal Pradeep, Havildar Satpal Rai, Naik Gursewak Singh, Naik Jitendra Kumar, Lance Naik Vivek Kumar and Lance Naik B Sai Teja.

DNA analysis is being used to identify the bodies. General Bipin Rawat, his wife Madhulika and Brigadier L.S Lidder were cremated with full honours at the Brar Crematorium in Delhi yesterday after their bodies were identified and flown in.

Prominent politicians and members of the public thronged Rawat's residence and gathered to watch his funeral procession pass by. Military commanders from Bhutan, Nepal and Sri Lanka attended the two funeral ceremonies. Brigadier Lidder's last rites were conducted in the morning and attended by defence minister Rajnath Singh, national security adviser Ajit Doval, Haryana chief minister Manohar Lal Khattar, and India's top military leadership.

Group Captain Varun Singh, winner of this year's Shaurya Chakra, is the sole survivor and is being treated at Wellington hospital in Bangalore.

Show Full Article
TAGS:Gen Bipin Rawat Helicopter crash India military 
Next Story