Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
Remembering the Teachers
access_time 5 Sep 2023 6:24 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightThrikkakara by-polls:...

Thrikkakara by-polls: AAP and Twenty20 won't support LDF, UDF, or BJP

Thrikkakara by-polls: AAP and Twenty20 wont support LDF, UDF, or BJP

The newly formed alliance of Aam Aadmi Party and Twenty20 has announced that none of the fronts will have their support in the upcoming Thrikkakara by-poll. He added that the workers and sympathisers of the alliance would vote after studying the situation.

The AAP Kerala state convenor P.C. Cyriac and Twenty20 Chairman Sabu Jacob issued the statement at a joint press conference. They added that the victory and defeat of any candidate will be decided by the People's Welfare Front. In the 2021 Assembly elections, Twenty20 had received 13,486 votes in the Thrikkakara constituency. Twenty20 is not fielding a candidate in the upcoming by-polls.

Earlier, AAP National Convener Arvind Kejriwal said the party is forming an alliance called 'People's Welfare Alliance' with Twenty20 at a public meeting at the headquarters of the Kerala-based party. Congress MP K Sudhakaran had told the media that the party does not mind AAP and Twenty20 joining forces. Leader of Opposition VD Satheesan also said the apolitical arguments of AAP will not work in a politically aware state like Kerala.

The by-poll was necessitated after the death of sitting legislator P.T. Thomas. The Congress leader was chosen by the people of Thrikkakara several times. His wife Uma Thomas is contesting in the upcoming elections representing the UDF.

Uma Thomas had told the media that she is very familiar with the constituency. She has been living there for 20-25 years and has played an active part in the political work and poll campaigns along with her husband.

The ruling LDF party is fielding a prominent cardiologist of Kochi, Dr. Jo Joseph. The NDA is represented by the senior Vice President of the Kerala BJP A.N. Radhakrishnan.

The by-election will be held on May 31.

Show Full Article
TAGS:Select A Tag
Next Story